My Top Ten Fortune Telling Methods

Here are my top ten methods of telling fortunes. I thought it high time I gave a brief description of my favourite methods. I will be going into lots more detail on these methods at some point in the future, but for now here’s what you need to know.

10- Tasseography-  (Tea Leaves or Coffee Grounds)

I must admit that I still haven’t had much luck with this method, but I’d say that’s through lack of trying. My experience with it though has shown that’s it’s really something that works best when passed down through family generations. You can’t really write a book about what those wet sploges actually mean because what looks like a baseball bat to you might be a club to someone else. It’s highly interpretative. But like most fortune telling methods the only way to get good at it is to practice, write it down and keep on practicing. For me, it’s one of the most fun methods because of course it involves sitting down for a lovely cup of tea or nice coffee. I suspect that this works best for those who are highly psychic anyway and who just need to be looking at something in order to access that ability.

9- Omens

We all use omens whether we know it or not. Often things that used to be deeply significant omens remain with us as superstitions. Black cats (or white ones depending on your culture) crossing your path as a sign of bad luck, feathers where they shouldn’t be as a message from your angels. My favourite at the moment is black cockatoos signifying either days of rain or days till rain. Though hubby to be and I joke that it only counts when they are flying upside down and backwards, it really does seem to work. Omens will often be most significant to you based on culture. I always thought that willy wag tails were cute until I found out that aborigines (or at least one tribe of them) believed that a willy wag tail wagging its tail at you was the same as someone pointing a bone at you. An ill omen. Since then I have noticed that they appear just before a run of bad luck or difficult times. I’ve been looking for years for a comprehensive list of omens but haven’t had much luck, so I’m thinking about making my own. If you know any omens that work for you please let me know!

8- Oneiromancy (Dreams)

Ah, the fine art of dream interpretation. This one is always a doosy for me because dreams can and are many things at once. They can be predictive but they are also our brains processing information, or trying out different scenarios to see how we will react, or simply noise from the day or that fish you ate for dinner. The trouble is telling which is what. Dream journals are invaluable but who has time to keep one? You have to write them as soon as you wake up or they just don’t stick around long enough. I’ve heard some people will record their dreams by speaking into a voice recorder but I’ve never tried. Dreams are also highly interpretive. There are some universal symbols like a building being yourself and a car or journey representing your life, but nothing about dream interpretation is set in stone. You’ll dream far more often then usual about driving if you are a race car driver or simply drive for a living then if you are a stay at home mum.

7- Runes

This is not one to mess around with. Runes are serious business. These are one of the few methods of fortune telling I don’t muck around with. I do think they cross the line from simple fortune telling into outright divination. The difference being that you do tap into something outside yourself when you use runes. They do not pussy foot around. It’s best to take your study of runes very seriously. Make sure when you use them you do so with the clearest of intentions and make sure you’ve learned how to protect yourself with psychic shields. That said, they are incredibly accurate. They will tell you about some of the hardest lessons you have to learn. You must be prepared to grow as a person when you use Runes. They simply won’t accept less then the very best of yourself.

6- Geomancy

My first experience of Geomancy was from a great set of part work magazines that my mum bought when I was a teenager. It was one of those types where every week they told you a little bit about something new and added to subjects they’d already touched on. In this set was something they called Geomancy that involved closing your eyes and randomly making eight sets of lines with dashes. Even dashes were one square odd were two (I think, I can’t remember now and I unfortunately I don’t have them any more). Anyhoo, what you end up with is two of the geomantic figures with cool names like Cauda draconis and Albus. Later on I found out it was actually a very deep and very ancient study that is well worth the time. The first method I learnt is probably the simplest for easy fortune telling, but for deeper readings there are many ways to generate the figures.

5- I Ching or Book of Changes

Ah the I Ching. This is probably my single biggest love/ hate relationship with fortune telling. I believe that there are ancient (and no so ancient) Chinese who have spent their whole lives studying the I Ching and who still find mysteries within mysteries. I have come to the conclusion that the Book of Changes answers questions by being so convoluted that you spend so much time trying to figure out how the answer applies to the question you’ve asked that you end up answering it yourself just to make it all fit. Of all the fortune telling methods it probably has the longest unbroken history going back some 5000 years. And make no mistake it has worked for all that time. But I think it’s safe to say that the I Ching is not something you just dabble in. It’s a life long study. It deserves it’s place as one of the best methods of fortune telling on any list.

4- Scrying

This is the method that freaks people out the most in my experience. Maybe it’s the strange trance like state you have to be in to see anything, maybe it’s just the nature of seeing things in flame or water or clouds or whatever you choose as your scrying medium. When people think gypsy fortune tellers looking into a crystal ball they are thinking about scrying. It’s hard to do. It’s hard to not feel like you are just making things up. I’ve stared for hours and hours and hours into a crystal ball and seen nothing but a weird reflection of the back ground. Scrying works by opening up your mind so make sure you’ve learnt how to ground and protect yourself before you try it. Alas, there’s no other way to learn then by just doing it. There’s no books, or list of interpretations. It’s just you and your ability to trust yourself. In some ways it’s the scariest of fortune telling methods because the catch 22 is that you have to have people to practice on but you can’t practice till you have some idea of what you are doing. I suggest starting with flames. A night camping sets the right mood and the camp fire is the best place to start.

3- Palmistry

This one is my favourite party trick. Even the biggest sceptic will often thrust their hand at you with a challenge “Go on then, read mine,” It works. Always read a persons dominant hand (the one they write with). Their non dominant hand is ‘what they were born with’ and their dominant one is ‘what they’ve made of what they were born with’. Contrary to popular belief, palms do change. Try photocopying your hand once a year to see how much you’ve changed. Which lines have gotten stronger and which have started to fade. Read lots of different books on the subject because I don’t think any one palmist has all the answers. No you can’t tell when someone is going to die and yes people will ask you.

2- Astrology

Everyone knows their star sign even if they know nothing else about anything remotely new age or paranormal or occult. Some of us aren’t 100% sure because of being born on a cusp. No you can’t be half Gemini half Taurus if you were born on a cusp because the Sun was either in one sign or the other. You’d need to check an ephemeris to be sure. What most people don’t realise is that our sun sign is just a small fraction of what we are. It might be the way that other people see you but the reality is that we all have every planet in our charts at some point. It’s the combination of those that make us who we are. Other people often see us as our sun sign but our moon sign is the next most powerful thing closely followed by our ascendant (what sign was rising over the horizon when we were born). Those of us that don’t think we fit the typical image of our sun sign often have very different moon sign and ascendants. I’ll admit that I have only scraped the surface of studying astrology. I got to the bit where there was a lot of maths and sort of shelved it for a later that hasn’t come yet. Suffice it to say, there was a good reason why the ancients considered their astrologers the scientists of their day.

1- Cartomancy

Easily my favourite. Probably because of all the fortune telling methods this is the one that comes most naturally to me. Cartomancy is reading fortunes with a deck of cards. That’s any sort of cards, be they tarot or oracle or playing cards. I think I like it best because there’s a loose frame work of rules but lots and lots of wiggle room within that frame work. I also love the art of cartomancy. We are so lucky in our time to have access to some simply stunning artwork in tarot decks. In that sense it’s easy to bounce off that art and let your senses soar with what the art tells you. Tarot is the most famous of course, but other decks exist. Quite a lot of psychics go very well with Doreen Virtues decks. Part of me thinks that’s because her decks are so soft and lovely that it makes it easier for the querent to be receptive to what the psychic is saying. On their own, her decks aren’t fantastic for telling fortunes as they can become a bit repetitive and Pollyanna. My favourite of the favourite method are the faery decks. I have quite a few and they work really well for me. At the risk of sounding loony I think those faeries really do exist. Brian Froud’s in particular are fun, curious, helpful, mischievous and not above playing pranks on you. But more on them later. For now, cartomancy makes the top of my list of favourite fortune telling methods.

15 thoughts on “My Top Ten Fortune Telling Methods

  1. I love runes, although I haven’t used them for a long time. They definitely have a seriousness about them that shouldn’t be taken for granted.
    A few years ago found a pack of cards actually, an egyptian pack that had the same vibe…you just can’t have fun with them they don’t appreciate it AT ALL! u can get smacked if you try…..
    I LOVE I-ching and when i was going through a divorce many years ago, I used it a lot, it thrilled me to work out the cryptic messages…took my mind off things and was a kind of amazing poetry….
    Thanks for your site i love looking around and interacting
    I have shared it a few times on Facebook, it deserves more attention!

    • Thank you! I realy appreciate it. It’s nice to know someone is enjoying it. 😀
      Was the Egyptian set you had called the Book of Doors? That has literally been the only card deck I have that I’m afriad to use, which is weird because I love all things egyptian. But the one time I did do a (scarily accurate) reading with them I felt like there was something very deep and rather dark behind them. I got the feeling that they really were doors to somewhere I’m just not prepared to go yet.

      • hmmmm i can’t remember… My father (who sniggers at most things other worldly) found them in a box outside his work and kept them for me…..their name escapes me, they have numbers and ‘arits’ and egyptian Gods and goddesses ….Anubis, Nephyr…..just can’t remember….My friend looks after them (she is a serious person and she knows how to read them with the respect they demand)
        The Book of Doors sounds intriguing!

  2. Pingback: Fortune Telling Vs Reading Cards « faerygodmotherfortunes

  3. I had a guy that studied palmistry a bit who managed to read my hand QUITE accurately. That is one area I could see myself actually being motivated to learn more of. Would you recommend any good books for it? I have tried learning more about astrology and tasseography but the results just weren’t quite “gelling” with me. Maybe they will someday if someone convinces me.

    • A good palm reader can be quite interesting I think. I’ve read lots of books on the subject but the one that stayed with me most was Paul Fenton-Smith’s Palmistry Revealed. But I do reccommend reading lots of them because you’ll find that there are quite a few different theories about what different lines, and mounds mean. The only way you’ll work out which ones work for you is when you go out there and read some palms. 🙂

      I think that’s one of the reasons I like fortune telling so much, because there is always something everyone will enjoy and it doesn’t really matter if some simply don’t work for you.

  4. I never realised that the runes tapped into something outside yourself when you use them. Although I have never used them myself I do know someone who has, I am now intrigued & curious about them whilst also being slightly cautious at the same time. Can you recommend a good reading source on the subject for me
    Faerygodmother?

    • Hi Vanessa, I suggest starting with Ralph Blum and working your way around the different books from there. As I said above for the palmistry, I think it’s important to read as widely as you can about a topic and bring together your own conclusions from those diverse sources. Good luck!

    • Yes. I tend to use different decks based on my mood at the time. Also depending on how in depth I want the answers to be. Tarot for something very deep and multi-layered, and oracles for something a bit more to the point.

What do you think?

